New from Old

DSC00299

I am quite thrifty, always looking for a bargain, and new ways to recycle. I have been sewing since I was 12, I used to go to night classes with my sister, when we were at high school. Over the years I have made a number of articles of clothing, including my wedding dress, my daughters and christening gowns. When I was in my teens (a while ago now ) I enjoyed the fact that I had clothes no one else had ,they were unique because I had created them.
I have not really done any sewing since I moved to Tenerife, for one thing material is expensive here, and there are not many shops that sell threads, elastic, ribbons etc.
On looking through other peoples blogs as I do on a regular basis I came across some crafty ones that gave me an idea, so I searched google for some help and found this great sewing site http://www.allfreesewing.com., from there I discovered different ways of using the clothes you have to make new ones, very exciting.
So I set to work and made this dress out of a top I no longer wear and a dress that I did not like the top on.
My opinion is it is great so comfortable, and free. Over the next few weeks I am going to be looking in the second hand shops for clothes that I can revamp, large flared skirts could be made into a dress for me, mens shirts could be made into tunics, there is no end to the possibilities now that I the bug.

Please feel free to comment, or ask questions,your input is much appreciated.

