Tip of the week

Sweet potato ” The worlds healthiest food”.

Lately I have become fed up with the quality of potatoes I have been buying, not all the same type in the bag, most rotten inside when you cut them, so decided I needed a change.

Over the years I have used sweet potatoes, in soups and curries, but not really as a vegetable or substitute for potatoes, I like rosti potatoes so thought I would give sweet potato a try and it was really good, kinda replaces toast for me for breakfast as I am wheat intolerant and this is great to dip in your soft poached egg.

There are many health benefits, loads of vitamin A which is good for your skin, vitamin C  which helps boost your immunity, beta-carotene, calcium and potassium. Also sweet potato has a low GI rating, which helps balance your sugar levels.

There are many different varieties of sweet potato available, white ,orange, and purple , at the moment I have tried the white and the orange, I found the orange sweeter but the white creamier when mashed.

To make the rosti I just took the skin off the sweet potato and grated it with a fine grater onto kitchen roll patted to remove excess water then fried in olive oil.

 

DSC00577 DSC00582

 

Please feel free to comment, or ask questions,your input is much appreciated.

